Back to Hurstville News

International Volunteers Day: local citizens awarded

Posted 6 December 2013 by (Hurstville News)

Hurstville City Council hosted its annual International Volunteers’ Day civic reception last night (5 December 2013).

Mayor of Hurstville, Cr Jack Jacovou said 23 volunteers were recognised for their great dedication, service and contribution to Hurstville City.

“The awards formally acknowledge the outstanding efforts and diversity of volunteers throughout our local government area, and paid tribute to the community members who work tirelessly to assist local organisations,” he said.

“Most importantly, each volunteer was nominated by their peers, and not by Council.

“This is the highest accolade a person can receive and it is something to be very proud of.”

Mayor Jacovou said volunteers in Hurstville City are found in almost every sector – from welfare, to education, conservation, emergency services, sports and the arts,

“Our local residents are particularly community-minded, with hundreds of community members lending a helping hand to assist not only community organisations but also people in need,” he said.

“Volunteering has an important place in the fabric of our community – it is the vital thread that draws people together and helps to create social cohesion.”

Each award recipient received a special commemorative certificate from Council to publicly acknowledge their volunteer service to the Hurstville community.

The International Volunteers’ Day reception coincided with International Volunteer Day - a global event that is celebrated on 5 December every year.

Award recipients
Con Angelis St George Basketball Association
Kathy Antonas Community Visitors Scheme
Norm Chessell Roselands Probus Club
Melinda Chew International Buddhist Association of Australia (IBAA)
Sew Pick Chew Narwee Baptist Church
Teresa Chu CASS
Lorenzo Di Palma Sunnyhaven Ltd
Robert Eyles 1st Oatley Scout Group
Geoff Francis Oatley Flora and Fauna Conservation Society Inc
Dr Janice Hall Rotary Club of Hurstville
Robert Hamblion Our Lady of Fatima Leisure and Craft Centre Peakhurst
Leila Khoury Kogarah Community Services Inc
Anita Kyriakides Peakhurst South Public School
John Lovell St Michael’s Catholic Church
Terry Lynch Lions Club of Lugarno
Kevin Manners Georges River College Peakhurst Campus
Carmelina Marshall Peakhurst West Public School
Jim McCann Hurstville Community Food Services
Danny Nield Pole Depot Community Centre Inc
Elizabeth Perkins St Joseph’s Catholic School Riverwood
Rose Said St Vincent de Paul - Retail
Nikita Tasker Georges River College – Penshurst Campus
Leontey Zhou Riverwood Squadron Australia Air League


Media contact:
Tanya Abraham
Manager Public Relations and Events
9330 6008 or 0411 748 953