Back to Hurstville News

No local government elections for Georges River Council in

Posted 30 August 2016 by (Hurstville News)

Residents of the local area are reminded that there will be no local government elections for Georges River Council in September 2016.

As part of the NSW Government’s Fit for the Future local government reforms, all new councils that were proclaimed on 12 May 2016 will not be participating in the local government elections this year.

This will mean residents of Georges River Council will not be required to vote in the September 2016 local government elections.

Instead, residents of the local area will be able to elect new Councillors on Saturday 9 September 2017.

The new Georges River Council will consist of 15 Councillors from across five wards. Three Councillors will be elected to represent each ward.

These wards include: Blakehurst, Hurstville, Kogarah Bay, Mortdale, and Peakhurst.

For more information on the local government elections, please visit or contact Council on 9330 6400.